.the diary of erika rice.
bio | profile | contact | links | archive | notes
* luckeme@dland

.my.first.article.
06.06.02 || 442pm

Dashboard Confessional, Brand New, and Seville

June 4, 2002 @ 8PM

Bogarts, Cincinnati, Ohio

Whether live or recorded, Dashboard Confessional always equals pure emotion. Chris Carrabba bares his soul in ways that sometimes seem impossible. The way he sings, the expressions he displays, it�s so raw and incredible. The only somewhat troublesome thing about a Dashboard Confessional show is the fact that you can�t ever hear Chris singing. With every song the crowd sings louder, drowning out his emotion, and his voice. Will there ever be a show you can go to and just listen to Chris sing? I highly doubt it. With his rising popularity and sudden jump to radio, and MTV, dash shows, in my opinion, are going to get worse before they (if ever) get better. With all the little teeny boppers screaming I love you Chris, and Will You Marry Me, the loyal and true fans will eventually get fed up. I know Chris can�t help that he�s attractive, and I�d probably fare against just about anything to see Chris live, but I won�t fight the rising MTV youth of America. Don�t get me wrong, I love Chris just as much as the next person, I�ve been a faithful follower for two years now, and I own every CD he�s put out, even Swiss Army, but I don�t think I could stand to go to another show, and have one more teenage MTV-er, wearing a dc shirt, with dc etched on her arm in black ink, and not knowing any of the songs jump all over me to make sure Chris sees her. Doesn�t anyone go for the music anymore? Dashboard surprised me by performing a new song that wasn�t the same, but wasn�t too deviated from the norm either. Brand New came on the stage first and totally rocked the house. They were total energy, explosive, jumping all over the stage. With the No Seat Belt Song they smashed through all the bad hype I had heard of them and became a fast favorite. Seville was less than rocking with a small set. I�m sure they have been better live, but every band has an off-night. I�d pay to see Brand New again, and possibly even Seville. Besides the heat, and the unexpected moshing, (squashing), it was a good twenty five bucks spent, considering I even made out with a pick that Chris had thrown into the crowd and a new favorite found.

Respectively,

Erika R. Walden




past | present

Bledgirlblue - 2003

2002 Review - 12.20.02

.end.password.blows. - 12.04.02

.nothing.fuck.it. - 11.25.02

.im.good.friend. - 11.25.02


maystar * designs